Here you will find answers to the most common questions about our game’s rules and mechanics. Whether you are a new player learning the ropes or a seasoned veteran seeking clarification, this section is designed to help you get the most out of your gaming experience. We aim to provide clear and concise answers to ensure your gameplay is smooth and enjoyable. If you have any questions not covered here, feel free to reach out to us directly. Happy gaming!
ANZAC soldier Sergeant Ian Thomas of New Zealand's 25th Battalion photographed while resting during the battles in Egypt.
What if I don't like a rule or unit?
In a casual game of Battleline, so long as you and your opponent agree, you are free to change any part of Battleline to better suit your enjoyment! The only time when you cannot change a rule or unit is when Battleline is being played competitively. Feel free to also message Kora Games if you find anything particularly unfun and we may change it in an upcoming version of the game.
What models do I need to play?
Battleline is model agnostic, which means that you can use anything to represent your units. We do recommend certain sizes for units, such as infantry models having a base of at least 25 mm in diameter, however, you do not even need to have plastic/metal models to represent units. Any object that meets the recommended sizes can be used as a unit's model. The recommended sizes are:
Infantry unit: 25 mm x 25 mm base
Artillery unit: Three 25 mm x 25 mm bases or one 60 mm x 60 mm base
Tank unit: Around 1/56 scale
How many points should I use when making my team?
It is recommended that your first game of Battleline: WWII should be 5 points, but after that, 10 point and 20 point games are the standard game sizes. However, so long as you and your opponent agree, you can play at any point total.
Can I take two or more units of the same name when making my team?
The Rifleman unit is the only unit that you can take multiples of in a standard game of Battleline.
What is a reserve unit?
A reserve unit is one unit that you take when making your team that does not count towards your point total. Think of a reserve unit as a flex spot in your team. Once both sides have placed down all of their non-reserve units during game setup, any player can switch one of their units with their reserve unit. This allows players to strategically change up their team to better face their opponent's team.
Can I turn my unit while moving to go around corners?
When a unit is moving or charging, they can go in any direction and turn any number of times so long as they do not go past their maximum move or charge distance.
Can two different units be on top of an objective?
No, only one unit can be on an objective at one time.
Can a unit on the brink be on top of an objective?
A unit on the brink cannot capture or be on top of an objective. When a unit is on the brink, it is placed on its side and should be lying away from the objective. If a unit on the brink heals to 1 or more health, they can be stood back up as close as possible to where they were originally so long as another unit is not in their original spot.
Can you heal to more than your unit cards listed health?
No, a unit card's Health is its maximum health. It cannot be healed to more than its maximum health.
Can you shoot into units locked in melee?
So long as the friendly unit's base does not get between the unit shooting and the enemy unit locked in melee, the unit shooting can attack the enemy unit.
What happens when both players have the same number of GP after the end of Round 4?
If both players have the same number of GP at the end of the game, it is considered a tie game.
What happens if I run out of units to use and my opponent still has more than one unit to use?
If a player runs out of units to use and another player still has units to use, the player that still has units to use will continue to take turns using their units until they run out of units to use and the round ends.
Can I choose not to give an order or not to attack with a weapon?
If a unit has the words "can" or "may" in its unit card, a player may choose to skip those actions.
- Officer -
Can the Officer give the "Take Aim" Order to a unit twice?
No, a unit can only receive the benefits from an ability with the same name once at a time.
Do you still finish your turn with the Officer after you use the "Advance" Order?
Yes, the "Advance" Order temporarily interrupts the Officer's turn while another unit moves, but after that unit moves, the Officer continues its turn and goes into its attack step.
If I use an "Advance" Order on a unit, does it count as being used?
No, a unit moving with the "Advance" Order is counted as taking a turn to move, but not as being used. This means that a unit moving with this order does not count towards the 1 use per round limit.
- Rifleman -
When does the Rifleman pass a commander unit's order?
Pass Down The Line activates as soon as a commander unit gives an order to the unit. You do not wait until you next use the Rifleman, the order is given and passes all within the commander unit's turn.
Can the Rifleman pass an order to another Rifleman, and that Rifleman pass an order to another unit?
Yes, so long as both units with Pass Down The Line are within 15 cm of each other, they can pass an order to each other. For example, if an Officer unit was in a line with seven Rifleman units that were all within 15 cm of each other, an order could be passed to all of them and all seven of the Rifleman units would move at the same time.
- Radio Operator -
What does Radio mean by "no matter the distance"?
When a commander unit gives an order, it can choose the Radio Operator unit even if the Radio Operator unit is outside of the normal 15 cm distance limit.
- SMG Troop -
Does a commander unit's "Take Aim" order make a 5 into a 6 for Rapid Fire?
Improving a roll of 5 into a 6 does not count towards Rapid Fire. "[I]f you roll a 6 on a hit roll" indicates that a 6 needs to be rolled rather than achieved by improving the result.
If an SMG Troop was on the brink over an objective, is healed back to 1 Health, and stands back up on the objective, can it capture it?
Not until its turn, as Capture is only when a unit ends its turn on an objective and the SMG Troop cannot be healed on its turn.
- Bazooka Troop -
Can a Bazooka Troop's Dangerous hit itself?
Yes, Dangerous can force the Bazooka Troop to make an extra attack against itself or even a friendly unit if either of them are within melee range of an enemy unit the Bazooka Troop is attacking with the Rocket Launcher.
- Mortar Troop -
Can a Mortar Troop's Shrapnel hit itself?
Yes, Shrapnel can also hit the Mortar Troop or even a friendly unit if either of them are within 10 cm of an enemy unit the Mortar Troop is attacking with the 2" Mortar.
Can a unit on the brink give line of sight for Spotters?
No, a unit on the brink is treated as if it does not have line of sight of any unit.
- Combat Medic -
Can the Combat Medic use Medical Specialist on itself?
Yes, the Combat Medic is a friendly unit within 15 cm of itself.
Can a Combat Medic heal a unit above the Health listed on their unit card?
No, a unit card's health is its maximum health. It cannot be healed to more than its maximum health.
- Assault Troop -
Does the Assault Troop get to reroll both of its dice from Elite Forces if it fails both of them near a unit with Medical Specialist?
No, Elite Forces gives the Assault Troop two defence dice, but it only takes the highest for its defence roll. Medical Specialist only lets the unit reroll its defence roll.
- Paratrooper -
Where is the Paratrooper before it is first used?
The Paratrooper is off the battlefield before the game starts. It is treated as if it does not exist until it is used for the first time.
Can you choose not to use the Paratrooper until Round 2, 3, or 4?
No, all units must be used for a round to end, even units not currently on the battlefield. The Paratrooper must be first used in Round 1.
- Sniper -
Do I still place the Sniper behind my Battleline before the start of the game?
Yes, the Sniper's Forward Deployment is optional, so you must have placed the Sniper behind your Battleline in the event that you choose not to use Forward Deployment.
If I place the Sniper on the far left of my battleline, does Forward Deployment allow me to place the Sniper on the far right of the battlefield so long as it is 30 cm or closer to my battleline?
Yes, so long as it is 30 cm or closer to your battleline, the Sniper can be placed anywhere on the battlefield.
If a commander unit gives the "Advance" Order to my Sniper, does it count as having moved for Well Hidden?
Yes, if the Sniper moved during the "Advance" Order, it is counted as having taken a turn to move (but this does not count towards its 1 use limit per round).
- Flamethrower Troop -
Does Can't Hide ignore a Sniper's Well Hidden?
Yes, Can't Hide allows the Flamethrower Troop to ignore all abilities during its attack step, including ones that would prevent it from attacking.
Does Can't Hide ignore additional defence dice?
Yes, abilities like the Assault Troop's Elite Forces are ignored during the attacking step, which includes attacking and defending.
Can a Flamethrower Troop's Dangerous hit itself?
Yes, Dangerous can force the Flamethrower Troop to make an extra attack against itself or even a friendly unit if either of them are within melee range of an enemy unit the Flamethrower Troop is attacking.
- LMG Team -
If a commander unit gives the "Advance" Order to my LMG Team, does it count as having moved for Setup?
Yes, if the LMG Team moved during the "Advance" Order, it is counted as having taken a turn to move (but this does not count towards its 1 use limit per round).
Does Pinning work even if I miss an attack?
Yes, Pinning is whenever you attack, no matter if you hit or miss.
- Bazooka Team -
Can a Bazooka Troop's Dangerous hit itself?
Yes, Dangerous can force the Bazooka Team to make an extra attack against itself or even a friendly unit if either of them are within melee range of an enemy unit the Bazooka Team is attacking with the Rocket Launcher.
- Mortar Team -
Can a Mortar Troop's Shrapnel hit itself?
Yes, Shrapnel can also hit the Mortar Troop or even a friendly unit if either of them are within 10 cm of an enemy unit the Mortar Troop is attacking with the 2" Mortar.
Can a unit on the brink give line of sight for Spotters?
No, a unit on the brink is treated as if it does not have line of sight of any unit.
If a commander unit gives the "Advance" Order to my Mortar Team, does it count as having moved for Setup?
Yes, if the Mortar Team moved during the "Advance" Order, it is counted as having taken a turn to move (but this does not count towards its 1 use limit per round).
- Medical Team -
Can the Medical Team use Medical Specialist on itself?
Yes, the Medical Team is a friendly unit within 15 cm of itself.
Can a Medical Team heal a unit above the Health listed on their unit card?
No, a unit card's health is its maximum health. It cannot be healed to more than its maximum health.
What does "self" mean on Emergency Aid?
The Medical Team can choose to use Emergency Aid on itself if it has taken damage.
- Anti-Tank Team -
If a commander unit gives the "Advance" Order to my Anti-Tank Team, does it count as having moved for Setup?
Yes, if the Anti-Tank Team moved during the "Advance" Order, it is counted as having taken a turn to move (but this does not count towards its 1 use limit per round).
- Howitzer Team -
Can a Howitzer Team's Blast Zone hit itself?
Yes, Blast Zone can also hit the Howitzer Team or even a friendly unit if either of them are within 15 cm of an enemy unit the Howitzer Team is attacking with the Cannon.
Can a unit on the brink give line of sight for Spotters?
No, a unit on the brink is treated as if it does not have line of sight of any unit.
- Tanks -
Can Break Through allow a tank to move past another unit, or over top of it?
No, as a unit is not treated as cover.
What happens if a tank is surrounded on all sides by units in melee range?
Tank units cannot move past another unit, and tank units do not have a melee attack. If they are somehow surrounded on all sides by units in melee range, they cannot attack, as shooting requires that you be at least 1 cm away from the enemy unit.